Logo of the French Presidency of the Council of the European Union - ue2008.fr

Get Adobe Flash player

French society

Gare St Lazare (Paris), MAEE, F. de la Mure Gare St Lazare (Paris) MAEE, F. de la Mure

On 1 January 2008, France and its overseas departments had an estimated 63.8 million inhabitants. This sets the French population at approximately 12.9% of the population of the European Union of 27. In 2008, life expectancy at birth was 77.5 years for men and 84.4 for women. Since 1990, this figure has increased by over two years for men, and three years for women.

Demographic situation (2006)

 
Europeans and new technologies
Europa

Births: 831,000
The fertility rate is 2 children per woman.
Birth rate: 13.1%.
Deaths: 531,000
Mortality rate: 8.4%
Marriages: 274,400. Since the start of the 1990s, the number of married couples has fallen while the number of unmarried couples has risen from 1.5 million in 1990 to 2.4 million - one couple in six today.
Divorces: 152,020 

Labour force


At work in a communication agency (Paris)
Ministry of Foreign and European Affairs, F. de la Mure

France has a total labour force of some 27.6 million. Within this category, 25.1 million are employees and 2.5 million (i.e 9.8% of the total labour force) are job seekers (January 2004). Of those of in employment74.5% of men and 63.8% of women.

- Breakdown by type of employment
% of the total labour force

 

Standard of living

Net average annual earnings: €21,480
Gross average household savings: 15.3% of disposable income. 

Religions

The French Republic is a secular state where all religious faiths and denominations are represented. 

Education


The law faculty at Douai (Nord-Pas-de-Calais)
Ministry of Foreign and European Affairs, F. de la Mure

In 2007, the education budget amounted to €77 billion, 28% of the national budget. In 2005, domestic education expenditure reached €117.9 billion accounting for, 6.9% (the highest rate among OECD countries).

www.education.gouv.fr (FR)

Studying in France (EN)  

Trade unionism

Approximately 1.38 million people in France - 5% of the working population - are union members. This is the lowest rate in the European Union.
The main centralised trade unions are:

  • the CGT (Confédération Générale du Travail)
  • the CFDT (Confédération Française Démocratique du Travail)
  • FO (Force Ouvrière)
  • the CFTC (Confédération Française des Travailleurs Chrétiens)
  • the FSU (Fédération Syndicale Unitaire). 

Social welfare

The French Social Security system was introduced in 1945. It is based on the principle of solidarity (benefits are financed through contributions from working members of the labour force). Employers and employee's conttributions finance 65.5% of total social security spending (29.6% of GDP). Taxes finance 17.4% of the total spending  including earmarked taxes such as the CSG (contribution sociale généralisée - social security contribution levied on virtually all sources of income) or the CRDS (contribution pour le remboursement de la dette sociale - contribution to the repayment of the social debt) which apply to salaries and all other sources of income. This is virtually the sole source of funding for the Social Security system. Public financing accounts for 13.5% of total resources. Benefits break down as follows: pensions (44%), health (35.2%), family allowances (9%) and employment aid (unemployment benefit, vocational training and social integration) (7.4%). However, the growing number of pensioners compared to the labour force, combined with medical advances and longer life expectancy, have created a deficit in the French Social Security system and led to pension contribution system reforms in 2003.

www.travail.gouv.fr (FR) 

Holidays


Family holiday (near Ajaccio, Corsica) 
Ministry of Foreign and European Affairs, F. de la Mure

Statutory paid holiday entitlement: five weeks a year.
65% of people take a holiday away from home.

  • Sources: ministry of foreign and european affairs
  • Updated: 08.09.2008
  • Increase text size
  • Decrease text size
  • Print
  • Download the page as PDF
  • Recommend this page
PFUE-TVPFUE-TV

The Summits of the Presidency

The Presidency
in theEU Languages

Logo de la Présidence française du Conseil de l'Union européenne - ue2008.fr

Get Adobe Flash player

Société

Gare St Lazare (Paris), MAEE, F. de la Mure Gare St Lazare (Paris) MAEE, F. de la Mure

Qui sont les Français, comment vivent-ils ? - Cet article présente succintement la société française : démographie, population active, catégories socio-professionnelles, niveau de vie, religions, syndicalisme, protection sociale, vacances.

Au premier janvier 2006, la population de la France y compris les départements d'outre- mer est estimée à 63,1 millions d'habitants. La population française représente ainsi environ 12,9 % de la population de l'Union européenne à 27. En 2006, l'espérance de vie à la naissance est de 77,2 années pour les hommes 84,1 années pour les femmes. Depuis 1990, elle a augmenté de plus de quatre ans pour les hommes, contre trois ans pour les femmes.

Situation démographique (2006)


Les Européens et les nouvelles technologies  
Europa

Naissances : 831 000
L'indicateur conjoncturel de fécondité est de 2 enfants par femme
Taux de natalité : 13,1 ‰
Décès : 531 000
Taux de mortalité : 8,4 ‰
Mariages : 274 400
Depuis le début des années 90, le nombre de couples mariés a baissé, tandis que le nombre de couples non mariés passait de 1,5 millions en 1990 à 2,4 millions. Ils représentent aujourd'hui un couple sur six.

Divorces : 152 020 

Population active


Atelier d'une agence de communication (Paris)
Ministère des Affaires étrangères et européennes, F. de la Mure

La France compte environ 27,6 millions d'actifs. Au sein de cette catégorie, on dénombre 25,1 millions de salariés et 2,5 millions de demandeurs d'emploi, soit 9,8 % de la population active (janvier 2004). Le taux d'activité s'élève à 74,5 % pour les hommes et 63,8 % pour les femmes. 

Catégories socioprofessionnelles

% de la population active 

Niveau de vie

Salaire net moyen par salarié : 21 480 euros par an.
Épargne brute moyenne des ménages : 15,3 % du revenu disponible.

Religions

La République française est un État laïque où toutes les confessions religieuses sont représentées.  

Enseignement


La faculté de Droit à Douai (Nord-Pas-de-Calais)
Ministère des Affaires étrangères et européennes, F. de la Mure

En 2007, le budget de l'Education nationale s'élève à 77 milliards d'euros, soit 28 % du budget de l'État. En 2005 la dépense intérieure d'éducation atteint 117,9 milliards d'euros, ce qui correspond à 6,9% du PIB, soit la moyenne la plus élevée des pays de l'OCDE.

www.education.gouv.fr (FR)

Etudier en France (FR)  

Syndicalisme

La France compte environ 1,38 millions de personnes affiliées à des syndicats, soit 5 % de la population active. C'est le taux le plus faible des pays de l'Union européenne. Les principales centrales syndicales sont :

  • la CGT (Confédération générale du travail),
  • la CFDT (Confédération démocratique du travail),
  • FO (Force ouvrière),
  • la CFTC (Confédération française des travailleurs chrétiens)
  • et la FSU (Fédération syndicale unitaire). 

Protection sociale

Le système français de protection sociale, la Sécurité sociale, a été créé en 1945. Il repose sur le principe de la répartition (les prestations des bénéficiaires sont assurées par les cotisations des actifs). La dépense nationale de santé, qui représente 29,6 % du PIB, est financée à 65,5 % par les cotisations des employés et des employeurs et à 17,4 % par des impôts ou des taxes, telles la contribution sociale généralisée (CSG) ou la contribution pour le remboursement de la dette sociale (CRDS), qui touchent également les revenus autres que ceux du travail. C'est le financement quasi exclusif du régime général de la Sécurité sociale. Le financement public ne représente que 13,5 % des ressources totales. Les secteurs de prestations sont les retraites (44 %), la santé (35,2 %), la famille (9 %) et l'emploi (indemnisation du chômage, formation professionnelle et insertion sociale) (7,4 %). La proportion grandissante de retraités par rapport à celle des actifs ainsi que les progrès de la médecine et l'allongement de la durée de vie, ont conduit au déficit du régime général de la Sécurité sociale et en 2003 à la réforme du régime général d'assurance vieillesse.

www.travail.gouv.fr (FR)  

Vacances


Vacances en famille (environs d'Ajaccio, Corse) 
Ministère des Affaires étrangères et européennes, F. de la Mure

Congés payés légaux : 5 semaines par an.
Taux de départ en vacances : 65 %.

  • Source : Ministère des affaires étrangères et européennes
  • Date de la mise à jour : 08.09.2008
  • Augmenter la taille du texte
  • Réduire la taille du texte
  • Imprimer
  • Télécharger la page en pdf
  • Recommander la page
PFUE-TVPFUE-TV

Les sommets de la Présidence

La Présidence
dans les langues de l'UE