Logo of the French Presidency of the Council of the European Union - ue2008.fr

Get Adobe Flash player

Paris Summit for the Mediterranean

0714_Defile_004_Une.jpg
  • On: 13.07.2008
  • In: Paris
43 Heads of State and Government will meet on 13 July in Paris to launch the Union for the Mediterranean.

Launched a little over a year ago by the French Head of State, the Union for the Mediterranean project, which aims to strengthen and deepen the cooperation between both sides of the Mediterranean, will be officially inaugurated on 13 July 2008 at the Paris Summit for the Mediterranean, which will bring together 43 European and Mediterranean States, the Community institutions and the regional organisations.

Having acknowledged the widening disparities in the development between each side of the Mediterranean, thereby increasing the risk of instability in the whole region, the President of the French Republic, joined now by all his European and Mediterranean counterparts, has initiated given a new dynamic impetus to promote partnership in the Mediterranean. It will build on the achievements of the Barcelona Process, inaugurated 13 years ago mainly on the initiative of Spain and France, but also intends to considerably develop its aspirations, functioning and its means for action.

The Union for the Mediterranean project is based on three simple but essential principles: a political mobilisation at the highest level through Summits of Heads of State and Government every two years; a governance on an equal footing, in the form of a North-South co-presidency and a permanent secretariat with equal representation; a prioritising of concrete projects with a regional dimension that create de facto solidarity.

The Paris Summit for the Mediterranean, set to be attended by the Heads of State and Government of the 27 Member States of the European Union, the 12 Mediterranean countries which are members of the Barcelona Process and the other four countries bordering the Mediterranean, together with the heads of the largest international and regional organisations, already promises to be a major political event.

The President of the French Republic and current President of the European Council Union will welcome the participants to the Grand Palais for an afternoon of debates which will conclude the adoption of the first main concrete projects of the Union for the Mediterranean. On the agenda for discussion are: environmental and energy problems, focusing on proposals for the de-pollution of the Mediterranean; the development of solar energy and water management; solutions to increased natural hazards and the infrastructure and transport deficit through joint civil protection programmes and the development of maritime highways; economic and social development challenges in the Mediterranean which could be partially resolved by actions to support small and medium enterprises and support programmes for higher education and research.

This meeting will be followed by a dinner at the Petit Palais for the participants.

 

Déclaration commune du sommet de Paris pour la Méditerranée - Paris, 13 juillet 2008 (FR)

Joint Declaration of the Paris Summit for the Mediterranean - Paris, 13 July 2008 (EN)

علان مشترك لقمة باريس من أجل المتوس ط

 

 

Greeting (Media library)

 

 

Plenary Caucus (Media library)

 

 

Dinner (Media library)

 

July 14th (Media library)

 

 

Technical press release on the Foreign Affairs Ministers'meeting

13_07_2008 Photos ministres des affaires étrangères / photos foreign ministers

  • Updated: 06.01.2009
  • Increase text size
  • Decrease text size
  • Print
  • Download the page as PDF
  • Recommend this page
PFUE-TVPFUE-TV

The Summits of the Presidency

The Presidency
in theEU Languages

Logo de la Présidence française du Conseil de l'Union européenne - ue2008.fr

Get Adobe Flash player

Sommet de Paris pour la Méditerranée

0714_Defile_004_Une.jpg
  • Le : 13.07.2008
  • À : Paris
43 chefs d'État et de gouvernement se retrouvent le 13 juillet à Paris pour lancer l'Union pour la Méditerranée.

Lancé il y a un peu plus d'un an par le Chef de l'État français, le projet d'Union pour la Méditerranée, qui a pour volonté de renforcer et d'approfondir la coopération entre les deux rives de la Méditerranée, sera inauguré officiellement le 13 juillet, à l'occasion du Sommet de Paris pour la Méditerranée, réunissant 43 États d'Europe et de la Méditerranée, les institutions communautaires et les organisations régionales.

Partant du constat que les écarts de développement se creusent entre les deux rives, aggravant ainsi les risques d'instabilité dans l'ensemble de la région, le Président de la République française, désormais avec l'ensemble de ses homologues européens et méditerranéens, a initié une nouvelle dynamique en faveur du partenariat en Méditerranée. Il s'agit de s'appuyer sur les acquis du Processus de Barcelone, inauguré il y 13 ans à l'initiative notamment de l'Espagne et de la France, mais aussi d'en développer considérablement l'ambition, le fonctionnement et les moyens d'action.

Trois principes simples mais essentiels fondent le projet d'Union pour la Méditerranée : une mobilisation politique au plus haut niveau par des Sommets de chefs d'État et de gouvernement tous les deux ans ; une gouvernance sur un pied d'égalité incarnée par une co-présidence nord-sud et un secrétariat permanent paritaire ; une priorité donnée aux projets concrets de dimension régionale créateurs de solidarités de fait.

Le Sommet de Paris pour la Méditerranée, pour lequel sont attendus non seulement les chefs d'État et de gouvernement des 27 pays membres de l'Union européenne, des 12 pays méditerranéens membres du Processus de Barcelone et des 4 autres pays riverains de la Méditerranée, mais aussi les responsables des plus grandes organisations internationales et régionales, s'annonce d'ores et déjà comme un évènement politique majeur.

Les participants seront accueillis au Grand Palais à Paris par le Président de la République française, Président en exercice du Conseil européen, pour une après-midi de débats qui se clôturera par l'adoption des premiers grands projets concrets de l'Union pour la Méditerranée. Au programme des discussions : les problématiques environnementales et énergétiques, avec notamment des propositions en faveur de la dépollution de la Méditerranée, du développement de l'énergie solaire et de la gestion de l'eau ; des réponses aux risques naturels accrus et aux déficits d'infrastructures de transport, grâce notamment à des programmes conjoints de protection civile et de développement d'autoroutes maritimes ; les défis du développement économique et social en Méditerranée qui pourraient en partie être relevés grâce à des actions d'appui aux petites et moyennes entreprises, et par des programmes de soutien à l'enseignement supérieur et à la recherche.

Cette réunion sera suivie d'un dîner au Petit Palais regroupant les participants.

 

Déclaration commune du sommet de Paris pour la Méditerranée - Paris, 13 juillet 2008 (FR)

Joint Declaration of the Paris Summit for the Mediterranean - Paris, 13 July 2008 (EN)

علان مشترك لقمة باريس من أجل المتوس ط

 

 

Accueil (Médiathèque)

 

Réunion Plenière (Médiathèque)

 

Dîner (Médiathèque)

 

14 Juillet (Médiathèque)



Communiqué technique pour la presse sur la réunion des ministres des affaires étrangères

13_07_2008 Photos ministres des affaires étrangères / photos foreign ministers

  • Date de la mise à jour : 06.01.2009
  • Augmenter la taille du texte
  • Réduire la taille du texte
  • Imprimer
  • Télécharger la page en pdf
  • Recommander la page
PFUE-TVPFUE-TV

Les sommets de la Présidence

La Présidence
dans les langues de l'UE