Logo of the French Presidency of the Council of the European Union - ue2008.fr

Get Adobe Flash player

Extraordinary European Council meeting on the situation in Georgia

Nicolas Sarkozy, Javier Solana, © Conseil de l'Union européenne Nicolas Sarkozy, Javier Solana © Conseil de l'Union européenne
  • On: 01.09.2008
  • In: Brussels

 

Meeting in an extraordinary session on 1 September following the conflict that broke out in Georgia, the European Council unanimously expressed its concern at the consequences, particularly in human terms, of this situation and its condemnation of Russia’s unilateral decision to recognise the independence of Abkhazia and South Ossetia.

It reiterated the unacceptable nature of this decision and called on other States not to recognise this proclaimed independence, emphasising once more that a peaceful and lasting solution to the conflict in Georgia must be based on full respect for the principles of independence, sovereignty and territorial integrity recognised by international law and United Nations Security Council resolutions.

The Heads of State and Government are pleased that the agreement achieved on the basis of the French Presidency’s mediation efforts on behalf of the European Union has led to a ceasefire, improved delivery of humanitarian aid to the victims, and a substantial withdrawal of Russian military forces. The 27 Member States reiterate that the implementation of that plan has to be complete and call on the parties to continue the full implementation in good faith of the agreement they have signed. They emphasised the urgency of finalising the international monitoring mechanism, in which the EU is prepared to participate, and which is provided for in point 5 of the agreement, and to begin the international talks concerning the security and stability arrangements in Abkhazia and South Ossetia provided for in point 6. The EU is ready to commit itself, including through a presence on the ground, and has decided in particular to send a fact-finding mission charged with defining the modalities for an increased commitment.

In addition to the emergency aid it is supplying, the EU is prepared to supply aid for reconstruction in Georgia, including in Abkhazia and South Ossetia, and to examine the enhancement of its relations with Georgia. It is more necessary than ever to support regional cooperation and the EU’s relations with its neighbours. The European Council called for the intensification of efforts to ensure the security of energy supplies and the diversification of energy sources and supply routes.

The European Council has decided to appoint a European Union Special Representative for the crisis in Georgia. It considers that this crisis has placed the relationship between the EU and Russia at a crossroads and that it is in Russia’s own interest not to isolate itself from Europe. For its part, the EU has shown itself willing to engage in partnership and cooperation, in keeping with the values on which it is based, and expects Russia to behave in a reasonable manner, honouring all its international commitments. The EU will remain vigilant and examine the various aspects of its relations with Russia, in particular in the run-up to the next summit scheduled to take place on 14 November in Nice.

The European Council has given a mandate to its President to continue discussions with a view to the full application of the six-point agreement. To that end, the President of the European Council, Nicolas Sarkozy, will go to Moscow on 8 September, accompanied by the President of the Commission and the High Representative. Until troops have withdrawn to the positions held prior to 7 August, meetings on the negotiation of the Partnership Agreement will be postponed.

Download photos of the event (zip)

 

            

 

  • Updated: 31.12.2008
  • Increase text size
  • Decrease text size
  • Print
  • Download the page as PDF
  • Recommend this page
PFUE-TVPFUE-TV

The Summits of the Presidency

The Presidency
in theEU Languages

Logo de la Présidence française du Conseil de l'Union européenne - ue2008.fr

Get Adobe Flash player

Conseil européen exceptionnel sur la situation en Géorgie

Nicolas Sarkozy, Javier Solana, © Conseil de l'Union européenne Nicolas Sarkozy, Javier Solana © Conseil de l'Union européenne
  • Le : 01.09.2008
  • À : Bruxelles

Réuni en session extraordinaire le 1er septembre suite au conflit qui a éclaté en Géorgie, le Conseil européen a rappelé à l'unanimité sa préoccupation sur les conséquences, notamment humaines, de cette situation et sa condamnation de la décision unilatérale de la Russie de reconnaitre l'indépendance de l'Abkhazie et de l'Ossétie du Sud.

Il réitère le caractère inacceptable de cette décision et appelle les autres Etats à ne pas reconnaitre les indépendances proclamées, en soulignant une nouvelle fois qu'une solution pacifique et durable des conflits en Géorgie doit être fondée sur le plein respect des principes d'indépendance, de souveraineté et d'intégrité territoriale reconnus par le droit international et les résolutions du Conseil de sécurité des Nations unies.

Les chefs d'Etat et de gouvernement se sont félicités que l'accord obtenu par la médiation de la Présidence française  au nom de l'UE ait débouché sur un cessez-le-feu, un meilleur acheminement de l'aide humanitaire aux victimes et un retrait substantiel des forces militaires russes. Les 27 Etats-membres réitèrent que la mise en oeuvre de ce plan doit être complète et appellent les parties à poursuivre la mise en œuvre intégrale et de bonne foi de l'accord auquel elles ont souscrit. Ils soulignent ainsi l'urgence de mettre au point le mécanisme international de supervision, auquel l'UE est prêt à participer, prévu au point 5 de l'accord ainsi que d'engager les discussions internationales sur les modalités de sécurité et de stabilité en Abkazie et Ossétie du Sud prévues au point 6. L'UE est prête à s'y engager, y compris par une présence sur le terrain et a en particulier décidé l'envoi d'une mission exploratoire chargée de préciser les modalités d'un engagement renforcé.

Au delà de l'aide d'urgence qu'elle apporte, l'UE est disposée à s'engager pour l'aide à la reconstruction en Géorgie, y compris en Abkazie et Ossétie du Sud, et à examiner le renforcement de sa relation avec la Géorgie. Il est plus que jamais nécessaire de soutenir la coopération régionale et les relations que l'UE entretient avec ses voisins. Le Conseil européen a appelé à l'intensification des efforts pour assurer la sécurité énergétique et la diversification des sources et des routes d'approvisionnement.

Le Conseil européen a décidé la nomination d'un représentant spécial de l'UE pour la crise en Géorgie. Elle estime cette crise place la relation entre l'UE et la Russie à la croisée des chemins et qu'il est de l'intérêt même de ce pays de ne  pas s'isoler de l'Europe. L'UE s'est montrée pour sa part disposée au partenariat et à la coopération, dans le respect des valeurs qui l'animent, et attend de la Russie un comportement responsable, fidèle à l'ensemble de ses engagements internationaux. L'Union restera vigilante et évaluera les différentes dimensions de la relation avec la Russie, notamment dans la perspective du prochain Sommet prévu le 14 novembre à Nice. 

Le Conseil européen a  donné  mandat à  son président  de poursuivre les discussions en vue d'une application intégrale de l'accord en 6 points. Dans ce but, le Président du Conseil européen, Nicolas Sarkozy, se rendra à Moscou  le 8 septembre, accompagné du Président de la Commission et du Haut-représentant. Tant que le retrait des troupes sur leurs positions antérieures au 7 août n'aura pas été réalisé, les négociations en vue de l'accord de partenariat sont reportées.
 

Télécharger les photos de l'événement (zip)

           

 

  • Date de la mise à jour : 31.12.2008
  • Augmenter la taille du texte
  • Réduire la taille du texte
  • Imprimer
  • Télécharger la page en pdf
  • Recommander la page
PFUE-TVPFUE-TV

Les sommets de la Présidence

La Présidence
dans les langues de l'UE