Logo of the French Presidency of the Council of the European Union - ue2008.fr

Get Adobe Flash player

European Council conclusions

© Conseil de l'UE © Conseil de l'UE
  • On: 16.10.2008
  • In: Brussels

Presided over by Nicolas Sarkozy, the European Council met on 15 and 16 October 2008.

In a context dominated by the international economic and financial crisis, the European Council marked its unity by expressing its resolution to act in a concerted and global way to stabilise the European financial system and protect depositors, thus confirming the principles adopted at the Eurogroup summit a few days earlier. The Council decided to set up a mechanism to allow a rapid and coordinated reaction in the event of an emergency. It decided to reinforce the supervision system and prudential standards at European level. It welcomed the adoption of accounting norms reflecting the fair value of assets. The European Council also approved the initiative of its president to work with our international partners towards a reform of the international financial system and a new world governance. In this context, the President of the European Council and the President of the European Commission will meet with the President of the United States as of the end of this week.

The European Council reaffirmed the objective of reaching an overall agreement on the energy-climate change package for the December European Council and agreed on the Presidency and the Commission intensifying work towards this end. On energy security, the Council adopted a series of specific guidelines which will be implemented in the coming months.

The Council adopted the European Pact on Immigration and Asylum, which will henceforth form the basis of a common policy on immigration and asylum for the EU and its Member States, guided by a spirit of solidarity between Member States and cooperation with third countries. This common policy should be based on a good management of migratory flows, in the interest not only of the host countries but also of the countries of origin and the migrants themselves.

It heard the Irish prime minister's analysis of the Irish referendum on the Treaty of Lisbon and agreed to review the issue in December in order to define the elements of a solution and the approach to take for 2009.

The Council also approved the composition of the group to reflect on the future of Europe, proposed by the president of the group, Felipe Gonzalez, and the two vice-presidents. The group will now commence its work.

Lastly, on the external front, the Council reviewed Russia's implementation of the agreement of 8 September, the situation in Georgia and the EU's relations with its eastern neighbours. The EU-Russia summit on 14 October in Nice will provide an opportunity for in-depth dialogue with Russia. The European Council asked the Commission to make proposals in November on the eastern partnership.

Photos - arrivals

Photos - Council

Photos - Council (more)

Photos - Family Photo

Photos - Presidency Press Conference

Photos - Presidency Press Conference 16.10.2008

Summit of the euro area countries: declaration on a concerted European action plan of the euro area countries - 12.10.2008

European Council  15-16.10.2008

  • Updated: 07.01.2009
  • Increase text size
  • Decrease text size
  • Print
  • Download the page as PDF
  • Recommend this page
PFUE-TVPFUE-TV

The Summits of the Presidency

The Presidency
in theEU Languages

Logo de la Présidence française du Conseil de l'Union européenne - ue2008.fr

Get Adobe Flash player

Conclusions du Conseil européen

© Conseil de l'UE © Conseil de l'UE
  • Le : 16.10.2008
  • À : Bruxelles

Sous la présidence de Nicolas Sarkozy, le Conseil européen s'est réuni les 15 et 16 octobre 2008.

Dans un contexte dominé par la crise économique et financière internationale,  le Conseil européen a marqué son unité en exprimant sa résolution à agir de façon concertée et globale pour stabiliser le système financier européen et protéger les déposants.

Il a ainsi confirmé les principes arrêtés par le Sommet de l’Eurogroupe les jours précédents.  Il a décidé de mettre en place un mécanisme permettant une réaction rapide et coordonnée en cas d’urgence. Il a décidé le renforcement du système de supervision et des normes prudentielles au niveau européen. Il a salué l’adoption de normes comptables reflétant la juste valeur des actifs. Le Conseil européen a enfin approuvé l’initiative  de son Président de travailler  dans les meilleurs délais avec nos partenaires internationaux à une refondation du système financier international et à une nouvelle gouvernance mondiale. Dans cette perspective, le Président du Conseil européen, accompagné de celui de la Commission, rencontrera dès la fin de cette semaine le Président des Etats-Unis.

Le Conseil européen a réaffirmé l'objectif d'un accord d'ensemble sur le dossier "énergie/changement climatique" pour le Conseil européen de décembre et  s'est mis d'accord sur une intensification des travaux par la Présidence et la Commission pour y parvenir.  Sur la sécurité énergétique, il a arrêté une série d’orientations  concrètes qui seront mises en ouvre dans les mois qui viennent.

 Il a adopté le Pacte européen sur l'immigration et l'asile. Le Pacte constitue désormais pour l'Union et ses Etats membres le socle d'une politique commune de l'immigration et de l'asile, guidée par un esprit de solidarité entre Etats membres et de coopération avec les pays tiers. Cette politique commune doit reposer sur une bonne gestion des flux migratoires, dans l'intérêt non seulement des pays d'accueil mais également des pays d'origine et du migrant lui-même.

Le Conseil européen a écouté l'analyse du Premier ministre irlandais sur le référendum en Irlande sur le Traité de Lisbonne. Il s’est mis d’accord pour y revenir en décembre afin de définir les éléments d’une solution et la voie à suivre pour 2009.

Le Conseil européen a adopté la composition du Groupe de réflexion sur l'avenir de l'Union proposée par le président du groupe, M. Felipe Gonzalez et les deux vice-présidents : le groupe va maintenant engager ses travaux.

 Enfin, sur le plan extérieur, il a fait le point sur la mise en œuvre par la Russie de l'accord du 8 septembre, la situation en Géorgie et les relations de l'UE avec ses voisins orientaux.
Le Sommet UE-Russie du 14 novembre à Nice sera l’occasion d’avoir un dialogue approfondi avec la Russie. Le Conseil européen a demandé à la Commission de faire des propositions en novembre sur le partenariat oriental.

Vidéo de la conférence de presse finale

Photos - série 1 - arrivées

Photos - série 2 - Conseil

Photos - Conseil (suite)

Photos - série 3 - photos de famille

Photos - série 4 - conférence de presse de la présidence

Photos - série 5 - conférence de presse de la présidence du 16 octobre 2008

Sommet des pays de la zone euro : déclaration sur un plan d'action concertée des pays de la zone euro - 12/10/2008

Conseil européen  15-16.10.2008

 

  • Date de la mise à jour : 07.01.2009
  • Augmenter la taille du texte
  • Réduire la taille du texte
  • Imprimer
  • Télécharger la page en pdf
  • Recommander la page
PFUE-TVPFUE-TV

Les sommets de la Présidence

La Présidence
dans les langues de l'UE