Logo of the French Presidency of the Council of the European Union - ue2008.fr

Get Adobe Flash player

European Council: a historic agreement

N. Sarkozy, © Service photo de l'Elysée - Laurent Blevennec N. Sarkozy © Service photo de l'Elysée - Laurent Blevennec
  • from: 11.12.2008
  • to: 12.12.2008
  • In: Brussels

Nicolas Sarkozy, the President of the French Republic, presided over the European Council held in Brussels on 11 and 12 December. A historic agreement was reached on climate protection and reducing carbon dioxide emissions. The Council also reached an agreement on the European economic recovery plan, the Lisbon Treaty and the European Security and Defence Policy.

The European Council of 11 and 12 December 2008 reached a historic agreement on the energy and climate change package, which should be able to be finalised with the European Parliament by the end of the year. This decisive breakthrough will allow the European Union to honour its ambitious commitments and retain its leading role in seeking a global agreement at the World Climate Conference that will be held in Copenhagen next year.

The European Council also approved a European economic recovery plan, equivalent to 1.5% of the GDP of the European Union (approximately 200 billion euros). This plan constitutes the common framework for efforts undertaken by the Member States and the European Union to ensure that these efforts are consistent with one another, thereby maximising their effects.

The European Council expressed its will, by means of a number of concrete decisions, to give a new impetus to the European Security and Defence Policy in order to respond to the new security challenges.

Lastly, the European Council debated the elements aimed at responding to the concerns expressed during the Irish referendum and set out an approach to allow the Lisbon Treaty to enter into force before the end of 2009.


Gallery

 

European Council : announcement

  • Updated: 30.12.2008
  • Increase text size
  • Decrease text size
  • Print
  • Download the page as PDF
  • Recommend this page
PFUE-TVPFUE-TV

The Summits of the Presidency

The Presidency
in theEU Languages

Logo de la Présidence française du Conseil de l'Union européenne - ue2008.fr

Get Adobe Flash player

Conseil européen : un accord historique

N. Sarkozy, © Service photo de l'Elysée - Laurent Blevennec N. Sarkozy © Service photo de l'Elysée - Laurent Blevennec
  • Du : 11.12.2008
  • Au : 12.12.2008
  • À : Bruxelles

Nicolas Sarkozy, président de la République française, a présidé le Conseil européen qui se tenait à Bruxelles les 11 et 12 décembre. Un accord historique a été trouvé sur le plan de protection du climat et de réduction des émissions de CO2. Le Conseil a également trouvé un accord sur le plan de relance de l'économie européenne, le traité de Lisbonne et la Politique européenne de sécurité et de défense.

Le Conseil européen des 11 et 12 décembre 2008 est parvenu à un accord historique sur le paquet énergie/changement climatique, qui devrait pouvoir être finalisé dès cette année, avec le Parlement européen. Cette percée décisive permettra à l'Union européenne d’honorer ses engagements ambitieux et de conserver son rôle moteur dans la recherche d'un accord global, lors de la conférence mondiale sur le climat qui se tiendra à Copenhague l'année prochaine.

Le Conseil européen a également approuvé un plan de relance de l'économie européenne équivalent à environ 1,5 % du PIB de l'Union européenne (environ 200 milliards d'euros). Ce plan constitue le cadre commun des efforts entrepris par les Etats membres et par l'Union européenne, pour assurer leur cohérence et ainsi maximiser leurs effets.

Le Conseil européen a marqué sa volonté, par des décisions concrètes, de donner un nouvel élan à la politique européenne de sécurité et de défense afin de répondre aux nouveaux enjeux de sa sécurité.

Enfin, le Conseil européen a débattu des éléments destinés à répondre aux préoccupations exprimées lors du référendum irlandais et a défini une démarche afin de permettre au Traité de Lisbonne d'entrer en vigueur avant la fin de 2009.


Médiathèque

 

Conseil européen : Article d’annonce

  • Date de la mise à jour : 30.12.2008
  • Augmenter la taille du texte
  • Réduire la taille du texte
  • Imprimer
  • Télécharger la page en pdf
  • Recommander la page
PFUE-TVPFUE-TV

Les sommets de la Présidence

La Présidence
dans les langues de l'UE