Logo of the French Presidency of the Council of the European Union - ue2008.fr

Get Adobe Flash player

How the European Union works

Europa Europa

The European treaties form the legal basis for all measures taken by the European Union and organise the way it is run. They define the rules and procedures governing the European Union institutions. These treaties are adopted by the Heads of State and Government of the Member States and take effect following their ratification by all the countries.

The treaties form the foundation of the EU’s legal system, which covers the rules of law applicable within the European Union. These rules define relations between the Member States and the institutions, and also directly concern the citizens.

The European Union’s working procedures are designed so that decisions on certain issues of common interest can be made by a democratic process at European level. These decisions are given effect by concrete legislation, which helps protect the citizens and improve the different aspects of their everyday lives.

To do its work, the European Union has a budget financed mainly by the Member States and own resources.

Below is a detailed description of the elements involved in running the European Union:

Back to the top
  • Increase text size
  • Decrease text size
  • Print
  • Download the page as PDF
  • Recommend this page
PFUE-TVPFUE-TV

The Summits of the Presidency

The Presidency
in theEU Languages

Logo de la Présidence française du Conseil de l'Union européenne - ue2008.fr

Get Adobe Flash player

Fonctionnement de l'Union européenne

Europa Europa

Les traités européens, qui constituent la base juridique de tous les actes de l’Union européenne, organisent son fonctionnement. Ils définissent les règles et les procédures que les institutions de l’Union européenne doivent observer. Ces traités sont adoptés par les chefs d’État et de gouvernement des États membres et prennent effet après la ratification par l’ensemble des pays.

Ces traités constituent la base de l’ordre juridique communautaire, qui rassemble les règles de droit applicables au sein de l’Union européenne. Ces règles définissent les rapports entre les États membres et les institutions, et concernent aussi directement les citoyens. 

Le fonctionnement de l’Union européenne est conçu afin que des décisions portant sur certains thèmes d’intérêt commun puissent être prises par un processus démocratique au niveau européen. Ces décisions se traduisent par des actes législatifs concrets, qui concourent à la protection des citoyens et à l’amélioration des différents aspects de leur vie quotidienne.

Afin de permettre le fonctionnement de l’Union européenne, elle bénéficie d’un budget, alimenté principalement par les États membres et des ressources propres.

Vous trouverez ici une description détaillée de ces éléments qui font le fonctionnement de l’Union européenne :

Retour en haut de page
  • Augmenter la taille du texte
  • Réduire la taille du texte
  • Imprimer
  • Télécharger la page en pdf
  • Recommander la page
PFUE-TVPFUE-TV

Les sommets de la Présidence

La Présidence
dans les langues de l'UE