Logo of the French Presidency of the Council of the European Union - ue2008.fr

Get Adobe Flash player

The European Parliament

European Parliament (Strasbourg), MAEE, F. de la Mure European Parliament (Strasbourg) MAEE, F. de la Mure

Originally, the European Parliamentary Assembly was established in 1958 as a consultative body that brought together Members of the national parliaments of the Member States. In 1962, the Assembly changed its name to "European Parliament". Since 1979, European Parliament members (MEPs) are elected by direct universal suffrage by European Union citizens. These elections are governed by proportional representation in all Member States. The European Parliament is elected every five years and contributes to drafting European legislation (directives, regulations, etc.) designed to improve the daily lives of European citizens.

How does the European Parliament work?

The European Parliament has its seat in Strasbourg where the twelve periods of monthly plenary sessions, including the budget session, are held. Additional plenary sessions are held in Brussels. The committees of the European Parliament meet in Brussels. The Secretariat of the European Parliament and its departments are based in Luxembourg.

The European Parliament is made up of 785 members, about one-third of whom are women, elected in the 27 Member States of the European Union. The next elections will be held in June 2009. On that occasion, the number of MEPs will be reduced to 750, plus the President, in accordance with the provisions of the Treaty of Lisbon.

 
© Touteleurope

MEPs are grouped by political affinity and not by nationality. There are currently 7 political groups in the European Parliament. Political groups are assigned places in the Chamber according to political affiliation, from left to right, and also according to their positions on European integration, from Federalists to Eurosceptics.

Breakdown of meps by country


The President of the European Parliament is elected for half the lifetime of a Parliament, i.e. a renewable term of two and a half years. The President represents the European Parliament vis-à-vis the European institutions, EU Member States and non-EU (third) States. Hans-Gert Pöttering was elected President of the European Parliament in January 2007.

MEPs meet in standing committees dealing with specific EU policy areas in order to define the positions to be voted on in plenary sessions. Subjects to be debated are also discussed in the political groups. During the monthly plenary sessions in Strasbourg, the Parliament studies legislative proposals and may amend them before their adoption. The agenda may also include Council or Commission "statements", or topical issues relating to events taking place in the European Union or elsewhere in the world. The Parliament is empowered to vote resolutions on the basis of these statements.

In the European Parliament, all Community languages are equally important: all Parliamentary documents are published in all the official languages of the European Union and every MEP has the right to speak in his/her language. The budget of the European Parliament accounts for about 1% of the General Budget of the European Union. 

What does the European Parliament do?

The powers of the European Parliament (EP) have increased with successive revisions of the Treaties. The Parliament today is a co-legislator, has budgetary powers and exercises democratic controls over all European institutions.

The EP exercises legislative power which it shares with the Council of the European Union in many areas including transport, the environment and consumer protection when it adopts legislation. The EP can approve, amend or reject legislative proposals presented by the European Commission. This is known as the codecision procedure introduced by the 1992 Maastricht Treaty and extended and revised by all the following Treaties. Two legislative acts in three are hence adopted jointly by the European Parliament and the Council of the European Union.

The EP exercises budgetary power and together with the Council of the European Union they constitute the Union's budgetary authority. The European Parliament thus decides each year on Union expenditure and revenue. Following a specific procedure involving the Council of the European Union and the European Parliament, the latter can adopt or reject the budget proposed by the European Commission.

The EP exercises parliamentary control over European institutions, notably over the Commission. The Parliament approves or rejects the appointment of the President of the Commission proposed by the Member States. It can also approve or reject the designation of Commissioners and is empowered to dismiss the College of Commissioners as a whole on the basis of a motion of censure. The Parliament can supervise the "Comitology" process and is empowered to express disagreement with Commission and/or Council proposals regarded as extending beyond the scope of their implementing powers. The Parliament also exercises democratic control over European Union activities through the right of citizens to submit petitions to the Parliament, investigations by the committees of inquiry, the right to bring actions before the Court of Justice of the European Communities, and financial control.

  • Updated: 25.06.2008
  • Increase text size
  • Decrease text size
  • Print
  • Download the page as PDF
  • Recommend this page
PFUE-TVPFUE-TV

The Summits of the Presidency

The Presidency
in theEU Languages

Logo de la Présidence française du Conseil de l'Union européenne - ue2008.fr

Get Adobe Flash player

Le Parlement européen

Parlement européen (Strasbourg), MAEE, F. de la Mure Parlement européen (Strasbourg) MAEE, F. de la Mure

A l'origine, l'Assemblée parlementaire européenne, créée en 1958, était un organe consultatif qui regroupait des membres des parlements des États membres. Cette assemblée s'est donné le nom de Parlement européen en 1962. Depuis 1979, ses membres sont élus au suffrage universel direct par les citoyens de l'Union européenne. Ces élections se déroulent au scrutin proportionnel dans tous les États membres. Elu tous les cinq ans, le Parlement européen participe à l'élaboration de la législation européenne (directives, règlements,...) qui vise à améliorer la vie quotidienne des citoyens européens.

Comment fonctionne le Parlement européen ?

Le Parlement européen a son siège à Strasbourg, où se tiennent les douze périodes de sessions plénières mensuelles, y compris la session budgétaire. Les périodes de sessions plénières additionnelles se tiennent à Bruxelles. Les commissions du Parlement européen siègent à Bruxelles. Le Secrétariat général du Parlement européen et ses services sont installés à Luxembourg.

Le Parlement européen est composé de 785 députés, dont près d'un tiers de femmes, élus dans les 27 pays membres de l'Union européenne. Les prochaines élections auront lieu en juin 2009. A cette occasion, le nombre de parlementaires sera ramené à 750, plus le président, selon les dispositions du traité de Lisbonne.


 

© Touteleurope


Les députés se regroupent non pas par nationalité, mais en fonction de leurs affinités politiques. Il y a actuellement sept groupes politiques au Parlement européen. Ces groupes se répartissent selon un axe gauche-droite, mais également selon leurs positions sur l'intégration européenne, des fédéralistes aux eurosceptiques.

Cliquez ici pour visualiser la répartition des députés européens par groupes politiques

Le Président du Parlement européen est élu pour une demi-législature, soit deux ans et demi ; ce mandat est renouvelable. Le Président représente le Parlement auprès des institutions européennes, des États membres et des États tiers. Hans-Gert Pöttering a été élu président du Parlement européen en janvier 2007.

Les parlementaires européens se réunissent dans différentes commissions spécialisées dans les domaines d'activités de l'Union européenne, afin de définir les positions qui seront votées lors des sessions plénières. Les thèmes de débat sont également discutés dans les groupes politiques. Durant les sessions plénières qui ont lieu tous les mois à Strasbourg, le Parlement examine les propositions législatives, peut procéder à des amendements avant d'adopter ces textes. L'ordre du jour peut également inclure des "déclarations" du Conseil ou de la Commission, ou des questions d'actualité, relatives aux événements qui se produisent dans l'Union européenne ou dans le reste du monde. Le Parlement peut voter des résolutions sur la base de ces déclarations.

Au Parlement européen, chacune des langues communautaires a la même importance : tous les documents sont publiés dans toutes les langues officielles de l'Union européenne et chaque député a le droit de s'exprimer dans sa langue. Le budget de fonctionnement du Parlement européen représente environ 1 % budget de l'UE.

Que fait le Parlement européen ?

Lors des révisions successives des traités, les pouvoirs du Parlement européen n'ont cessé d'augmenter. Aujourd'hui, le Parlement est un co-législateur, dispose d'un pouvoir budgétaire et joue un rôle de contrôle démocratique sur toutes les instances européennes.

Il exerce un pouvoir législatif. Il partage ce pouvoir avec le Conseil de l'Union européenne dans de nombreux domaines (par exemple les transports, l'environnement, la protection des consommateurs...), quand il adopte des textes législatifs. Le Parlement peut agréer, modifier ou rejeter le contenu des propositions législatives faites par la Commission européenne. C'est la procédure de codécision qui a été introduite par le traité de Maastricht (1992) et a été étendue et aménagée par tous les traités successifs. Ainsi, deux législations européennes sur trois sont adoptées conjointement par le Parlement européen et le Conseil de l'Union européenne.

Il exerce un pouvoir budgétaire. Le Parlement européen et le Conseil de l'Union européenne constituent les deux branches de l'autorité budgétaire de l'Union européenne. Le Parlement européen détermine ainsi, chaque année, certaines dépenses ainsi que les recettes de l'Union. Au terme d'une procédure spécifique, impliquant le Conseil de l'Union européenne et le Parlement européen, ce dernier adopte ou refuse le budget proposé par la Commission européenne.

Il exerce un contrôle parlementaire sur les institutions européennes, notamment sur la Commission. Le Parlement approuve ou rejette le choix du président de la Commission, fait par les États membres. Il peut également approuver ou refuser la désignation des membres de la Commission et est habilité à démettre la Commission dans son ensemble, par le vote d'une motion de censure. Il exerce également un droit de regard sur le processus dit de "comitologie". Le Parlement peut manifester son désaccord à l'égard de projets de la Commission ou, le cas échéant, du Conseil de l'Union européenne, qui iraient au-delà de leurs compétences d'exécution. Le Parlement possède également un pouvoir de contrôle démocratique sur les activités de l'Union européenne, qu'il exerce via le droit de pétition des citoyens, les enquêtes, le droit de recours devant la Cour de Justice des Communautés européennes et le contrôle financier.

  • Date de la mise à jour : 25.06.2008
  • Augmenter la taille du texte
  • Réduire la taille du texte
  • Imprimer
  • Télécharger la page en pdf
  • Recommander la page
PFUE-TVPFUE-TV

Les sommets de la Présidence

La Présidence
dans les langues de l'UE