Logo of the French Presidency of the Council of the European Union - ue2008.fr

Get Adobe Flash player

Bodies and agencies

Consultative bodies

The European Economic and Social Committee


Headquarters of the European Economic and Social Committee and the Committee of the Regions of the European Union (Brussels)
Ministry of Foreign and European Affairs, F. de La Mure


The European Economic and Social Committee (EESC) is a consultative body set up in 1957 under the Treaty of Rome. It represents members of civil society, namely employers, unions, farmers and consumers. The Committee issues opinions and defends the interests of civil society within EU institutions which are required to consult the Committee prior to taking any decisions relating to economic and social policy.

http://www.eesc.europa.eu/

The Committee of the Regions


Headquarters of Committee of the Regions of the European Union and the European Economic and Social Committee and the (Brussels)
Ministry of Foreign and European Affairs, F. de La Mure

The Committee of the Regions (CoR) is a consultative body set up in 1994 by the Treaty on European Union. It is composed of representatives of regional and local authorities in Member States. They are often Region Presidents or the mayors of big cities. Consultation of the Committee is required prior to all EU decisions on issues concerning local and regional authorities and including regional policy, the environment, education and transport.

http://www.cor.europa.eu/

Financial bodies

The European Central Bank


European Central Bank (Frankfurt)
ECB Frankfurt


The European Central Bank (ECB) was set up in 1998 under the Treaty on European Union and manages the euro, the EU's single currency. The ECB is responsible for framing and implementing the EU's monetary policy. To do so, the ECB works with the European System of Central Banks, especially those in the eurozone. The ECB and its European counterparts are independent of the EU institutions and the governments of Member States.

http://www.ecb.int/home/html/index.en.html

The European Investment Bank

The European Investment Bank (EIB) was set up in 1958 under the Treaty of Rome. The EIB lends money to the public and private sectors for funding projects of European interest such as social cohesion; support for small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs); environmental schemes; research, development and innovation; transport; and energy. The EIB is also active in 140 countries with which the European Union has a Cooperation Agreement.

http://www.eib.org/

The European Investment Fund

The European Investment Fund (EIF) was set up in 1994 to provide venture capital for small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs), particularly new firms and technology-oriented businesses. It also provides guarantees covering financial institutions' loans to SMEs.

http://www.eif.org/

Other specialised bodies

The European Ombudsman


European Ombudsman, P. Nikiforos Diamandouros
Europa

The position of European Ombudsman was created in 1992 by the Treaty of Maastricht (TEU). The Ombudsman's role is to facilitate relations between citizens and the EU authorities. He receives and investigates complaints from EU citizens, businesses and organisations. The Ombudsman is elected by the European Parliament for a renewable five-year term.

http://www.euro-ombudsman.eu.int/

The European Data Protection Supervisor

The position of European Data Protection supervisor (EDPS) was created in 2001. The EDPS is responsible for ensuring that EU institutions and bodies respect people's privacy when processing their personal data. The Supervisor is appointed by the European Parliament and the Council of the European Union for a five-year term.

http://www.edps.europa.eu/EDPSWEB

EU Agencies

  • Community agencies: there are today 24 Community agencies that accomplish technical, scientific and managerial tasks. They include, for example, the European Food Safety Authority (EFSA) and the European Agency for the Management of Operational Cooperation at the External Borders (FRONTEX). 

    http://europa.eu/agencies/community_agencies/frontex/index_en.htm 
     
  • Common Foreign and Security Policy agencies: these agencies are: the European Defence Agency (EDA), the European Union Institute for Security Studies (ISS) and the European Union Satellite Centre (EUSC). These three CFSP agencies perform technical, scientific and management tasks in the framework of the European Union's Common Foreign and Security Policy (CFSP). 

    http://europa.eu/agencies/security_agencies/index_en.htm 
     
  • Police and judicial cooperation in criminal matters agencies: these are: the European Police Office (EUROPOL), the European Union's Judicial Cooperation Unit (EUROJUST) and the European Police College (CEPOL). These three agencies help the EU Member States co-operate in the fight against international organised crime.

    http://europa.eu/agencies/pol_agencies/index_en.htm
  • Executive agencies: the six executive agencies were established with a view to being entrusted with certain tasks relating to the management of one or more Community programmes. These agencies are set up for a fixed period. They include the Executive Agency for the Public Health Programme (PHEA), the Research Executive Agency (REA) and the Executive Agency for Competitiveness and Innovation (EACI). 

    http://europa.eu/agencies/executive_agencies/index_en.htm

Interinstitutional bodies

  • Updated: 08.09.2008
  • Increase text size
  • Decrease text size
  • Print
  • Download the page as PDF
  • Recommend this page
PFUE-TVPFUE-TV

The Summits of the Presidency

The Presidency
in theEU Languages

Logo de la Présidence française du Conseil de l'Union européenne - ue2008.fr

Get Adobe Flash player

Organes et agences

Organes consultatifs

Le Comité économique et social européen


Bâtiment du comité économique et social et du comité des régions (Bruxelles)
Ministère des affaires étrangères et européennes, F. de La Mure

Créé en 1957 par le traité de Rome, le Comité économique et social européen est un organe consultatif. Il représente les membres de la société civile : employeurs, syndicats, agriculteurs, et consommateurs. Le Comité émet des avis et défend les intérêts de la société civile auprès des institutions. Celles-ci doivent consulter le Comité préalablement à toute décision en matière de politique économique et sociale.

http://www.eesc.europa.eu/

Le Comité des régions de l'Union européenne


Bâtiment du comité des régions et du comité économique et social (Bruxelles)
Ministère des affaires étrangères et européennes, F. de La Mure


Créé en 1994 par le traité sur l'Union européenne, le Comité des régions est un organe consultatif. Il est composé de représentants des autorités régionales et locales des États membres, souvent présidents de régions ou maires de grandes villes. Le Comité est consulté avant toute décision de l'UE qui concerne les pouvoirs locaux et régionaux (la politique régionale, l'environnement, l'éducation et les transports par exemple).

http://www.cor.europa.eu/ 

Organes financiers

La Banque centrale européenne

 
La Banque centrale européenne (Francfort) 
BCE Francfort


Fondée en 1998, par le traité sur l'Union européenne, la Banque centrale européenne (BCE), gère la monnaie unique de l'UE, l'euro. La BCE définit et met en œuvre la politique monétaire de l'UE. Elle travaille avec les banques centrales des États membres, et plus particulièrement avec celles des pays de la zone euro. La BCE et ses homologues nationaux sont indépendants vis-à-vis des institutions européennes et des gouvernements des États membres.

http://www.ecb.int/home/html/index.en.html

La Banque européenne d'investissement

Créée en 1958 par le traité de Rome, la Banque européenne d'investissement (BEI) prête de l'argent aux secteurs public et privé pour financer des projets à caractère européen. Elle intervient dans des projets en rapports avec la cohésion régionale, le soutien aux petites et moyennes entreprises, l'environnement, la recherche, le développement et l'innovation, les transports ou l'énergie. La BEI agit aussi dans 140 pays avec lesquels l'Union européenne a conclu un accord de coopération.

http://www.eib.org/

Le Fonds européen d'investissement

Créé en 1994, le Fonds européen d'investissement, fournit du capital à risque aux petites et moyennes entreprises, en particulier aux jeunes sociétés et aux entreprises à orientation technologique. Il sert également de caution à ces entreprises pour l'obtention de prêts.

http://www.eif.org/  

Autres organes spécialisés

Le Médiateur européen


Le médiateur européen, P. Nikiforos Diamandouros
Europa


En 1992, le traité de Maastricht crée la fonction de Médiateur européen. Celui-ci facilite les relations entre les citoyens et les autorités européennes. Il reçoit les plaintes des citoyens, des entreprises et des institutions de l'UE et mène des enquêtes au sujet de ces plaintes. Le Médiateur est élu par le Parlement européen pour un mandat renouvelable de cinq ans.

http://www.euro-ombudsman.eu.int/

Le Contrôleur européen de la protection des données

Créé en 2001, le Contrôleur européen de la protection des données veille à ce que les institutions et les organes communautaires respectent la vie privée des personnes lorsqu'ils traitent des données à caractère personnel. Le contrôleur est désigné pour un mandat de cinq ans par le Parlement européen et le Conseil européen.
 
http://www.edps.europa.eu/EDPSWEB  

Agences

  • Agences communautaires : On dénombre aujourd'hui 24 agences communautaires. Elles remplissent des tâches de nature technique, scientifique ou de gestion. A titre d'exemples, on peut citer l'Autorité européenne de sécurité des aliments ou l'Agence européenne pour la gestion de la coopération opérationnelle aux frontières extérieures (FRONTEX).

             http://europa.eu/agencies/community_agencies/index_fr.htm

  • Agences de politique étrangère et de sécurité commune : L'agence européenne de défense, l'institut d'études de sécurité de l'Union européenne, le centre satellitaire de l'Union européenne. Ces trois agences de politique étrangère et de sécurité commune remplissent des tâches de nature technique, scientifique ou de gestion dans le cadre de la politique étrangère et de sécurité commune de l'Union européenne.

             http://europa.eu/agencies/security_agencies/index_fr.htm

  • Agences de coopération policière et judiciaire en matière pénale : L'office européen de police (EUROPOL), l'unité de coopération judiciaire européenne (EUROJUST) et le collège européen de police. Ces trois agences coordonnent la coopération entre les États membres de l'UE dans la lutte contre la criminalité internationale organisée.

             http://europa.eu/agencies/pol_agencies/index_fr.htm

  • Agences exécutives : Les six agences exécutives sont des organismes institués en vue de certaines tâches relatives à la gestion d'un ou de plusieurs programmes communautaires. Ces agences sont créées pour une durée déterminée. On peut citer l'Agence exécutive pour la santé publique, l'agence exécutive pour la recherche et l'agence exécutive pour la compétitivité et l'innovation.

             http://europa.eu/agencies/executive_agencies/index_fr.htm 

Services interinstitutionnels

  • Office des publications officielles des Communautés européennes : C'est l'éditeur officiel des publications des institutions européennes.

             http://publications.europa.eu/index_fr.htm

  • Office européen de sélection du personnel : depuis 2003, l'office de sélection du personnel des Communautés européennes organise les concours de recrutement de personnel pour les institutions de l'Union européenne.

             http://europa.eu/epso/index_fr.htm

  • Ecole européenne d'administration : Etablie en 2005, l'École européenne d'administration organise des formations pour le personnel des institutions européennes dans certains domaines spécifiques.

             http://europa.eu/eas/index_fr.htm

 

  • Date de la mise à jour : 08.09.2008
  • Augmenter la taille du texte
  • Réduire la taille du texte
  • Imprimer
  • Télécharger la page en pdf
  • Recommander la page
PFUE-TVPFUE-TV

Les sommets de la Présidence

La Présidence
dans les langues de l'UE